Location1518 W Glenoaks Blvd., Glendale, CA 91201

Tahmazian Law Firm, P.C. Tahmazian Law Firm, P.C.
Free Consultations


Phones Answered 24/7

Hit and Run Injuries in California

 Posted on April 25, 2024 in Car Accidents

CA injury lawyerWhen car collisions happen, the people involved generally make note of any damage to themselves and the other people and then exchange insurance information. They might also take pictures of the scene of the crash to help with legal and police procedures later on. However, sometimes a driver crashes into someone and does not stop to see if they are alright or give the other person any information, including their phone number, license plate, or insurance information. In this type of hit and run accident, it can be more difficult to recover damages from the at-fault driver, but an experienced Los Angeles, CA car accident attorney can help you navigate the process.

What to Do After You Are Hurt in a Hit and Run

The way you will handle your injuries from the car accident depends on the driver.

  • When you can find the driver, the process is a bit more clear-cut. When the driver who fled the scene is identified, you can file a claim against them. Their liability coverage can then cover the damages they owe you. You can also bring criminal charges as well as civil charges against them.
  • When you cannot find the driver, you can still seek compensation. You can file it with your own car insurance for any injury you suffered, but you will not be able to claim property damage if you cannot identify the other driver. If you do not have car insurance, you can file a claim with your health insurance, but this also would not cover the costs of any property damage resulting from the accident. 

What are California Minimum Policy Limits?

When you file a claim, the compensation you receive will depend on the insurance policy limits. The state of California has minimum coverage requirements as follows:

  • Uninsured motorist: If you identify the other driver and they are uninsured, you can turn to an uninsured motorist policy for compensation. By law, California drivers have uninsured motorist property damage coverage for at least $15,000 per person and at least $5,000 per accident.
  • Collision coverage: Regardless of who was at fault, this can cover the costs resulting from damage to your car. 
  • Medical payments coverage: Regardless of who was at fault, this will cover the costs of any immediate medical care you or anyone in your car needs. There is a minimum limit of $1,000 per person involved in the crash.

Keep in mind that California has a statute of limitations of up to two years for personal injury claims. That means you have two years from the time of the accident to file your claim. After two years, your case will not be heard.

Schedule a Free Consultation with a California Hit and Run Attorney

If you were hurt in a hit and run, let an experienced Los Angeles County, CA car accident lawyer help you recover the damages you need. At Tahmazian Law Firm, P.C., we offer free consultations so call us at 818-242-8201 to schedule yours.

Share this post:
Back to Top